Scientific Leadership

Scientists from Atmospheric and Environmental Research (AER) contribute world-class research and development. More than half hold Ph.D.s or advanced degrees. Our scientists serve as faculty and instructors at area universities and also as committee members of organizations such as the National Research Council. 

AER staff members are active participants in professional journal review boards as well as panel and mail proposal reviews for government agencies. They're active members of professional organizations such as the American Meteorological Society (AMS) and the American Geophysical Union (AGU). AER scientists have served as President of the AMS and as Vice Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee for the European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF).




  Rebecca Adams-Selin, PhD

  Convection and Precipitation Microphysics Scientist
  Lead, Atmospheric Components and Processes Section




  Karen E. Cady-Pereira, MS

  Physicist and Remote Sensing Scientist
  Manager, Radiation, Trace Gases and Clouds Group




  Judah Cohen, PhD

  Director of Seasonal Forecasting





  Archana Dayalu, PhD

  Greenhouse Gas, Carbon Cycle, and Air Quality Scientist
  Manager, Air Quality and Greenhouse Gases Modeling Group





  Stephen S. Leroy, PhD

  Climate, Atmospheric, and Remote Sensing Scientist
  Manager, Modeling and Advanced Remote Sensing Group




  Christopher M. Little, PhD

  Oceanographer and Climate Scientist
  Manager, Oceanography Group





  Eli J. Mlawer, PhD

  Radiation and Climate Scientist
  Lead, Radiation and Climate Section




  Rui M. Ponte, PhD

  Physical Oceanographer
  Lead, Atmosphere, Ocean & Climate Section